Get it while it’s hot

I think almost everyone has messed around with a camera before but usually we are out at a bar or family function. This was the first time I have truly used any sort of camera to capture a specific thing. I love taking photos, I am the guy at the party who takes my friends camera and they will wake up the next day to see over 200 shots taken.

With this assignment I really wanted to capture some action, not just my roommate watching TV or doing homework, I am the type of person who wants to go out and capture something awesome. I decided to go to the local bar we all love “Pierre Lacledes” and capture some of the cooks making the food for the customers. I actually ended up going back today to get some pictures because I wasn’t crazy about the ones yesterday. This photo I find very interesting and just flat out awesome. The flames bursting over the burger is something that was hard to capture and I think it took a bit of luck but I made it happen and I was truly pleased with that. Although it has a bit of blur to it, I think it gives it flavor (no pun intended) and what I also like is the flames near the floor. The lighting in the kitchen wasn’t the most ideal but as a photographer you have to adjust. Now I know Erik will have something to say about the picture but hey, you live and you learn right?

What also helped me was the fact that the cooks honestly would push me out of the way if I was in the way, so it gave me a natural setting and that was also important for me. I look forward to learning more and trying out different things!

 

1 Response to “Get it while it’s hot”


  1. 1 sluphojo February 9, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Ooh, love the ambition and the drive to make it right. Glad to see your first shooting experience was a success. Good job, Connor.


Leave a comment