Archive for February 15th, 2012

Color,Light,Mood & Texture – Assignment 2

After using the Nikon for the first time for our first assignment and learning my lesson on too much exposure I got to work on finding pictures for our second assignment. I played around with the camera and shot a few practice shots over last weekend so that I was sure I could handle the Nikon a little bit better this time around. While in my apartment I was honestly just playing around with the different iso’s and balances, etc. I immediately got excited after I got this close up shot of this jar of candy hearts in my apartment, the reason I got so excited was because it was the first photo that I had taken with the Nikon that I loved. It is so focused on just the color in the photograph and everything else in the background is blurred out because it isn’t supposed to be the focus of the picture. It was a shot I was not planning on using at all. Goes to show that Professor Lunsford is right in that don’t try to get great shots and just play around and see what you end up with. I also can say that I now have a better understanding of how to use the camera better and am so excited for the rest of the semester, when I realized I was able to take better photos on this camera it made me feel more confident in going out and taking photos. I understand that maybe this photo is a little bit too close up but I do think that it is good for the color aspect of the project because it is February after all and it represents the colors of the month, also this time of year is not colorful whatsoever outside so this is bright for this time of year besides Mardi Gras! Overall I enjoyed this project because it will most likely bring out the creative side in everyone in our class and leave room for a lot of interpretations of each thing.