“Frozen” Illustration

frozen

Completely spaced on writing my corresponding blog for the Photoshop illustration assignment….so this is a little late, oops! Anyways, for my illustration photo I used a picture taken during the first snowfall of the season in Forest Park.  I happened to be on my way home from work, and sitting in the I-64 traffic jam that always occurs at 6:00pm I noticed how pretty the trees in Forest Park looked with the snow sticking to the branches.  I made a split second decision and took the next exit to run and capture snowy images.  It worked out perfectly that i had my camera with me that day since I’d been using it to take pictures for the “person at work” assignment. I got a lot of really cool images, but I loved this one with the three men fishing. I used the coloring tools to create a “Northern Lights” effect on the pond, and sharpened the glow from the street lamps off in the distance. Finally, I posterized the snowy grass in the bottom of the frame and several bushes along the backside of the pond, too.  I like the colors that give the illusion of the “Northern Lights”, but enjoy that the silhouettes of the men are not overwhelmed by the Photoshop edits.

0 Responses to ““Frozen” Illustration”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Erik’s Twitter Feed


