Archive for November 10th, 2010

Comparing Robert Cohen the Great to little old me.

And the Winner is…

This photo was taken on November 7, 2010 and displays Peter Joppich of Germany winning first place in the men’s foil final match in the World Fencing Championship. I really like how this displays emotion and the triumph of sweet sweet victory. I like how the photographer, has Joppic positioned and the only one in the frame. It’s as if all of his hard work, determination, and skill is shining through in the photograph.

Ten monthes after Haiti earthquake

It has now been nearly ten months since the devastating January earthquake struck Haiti, reducing Port-au-Prince to rubble and claiming over 300,000 lives. In the time since, Haiti’s government, the United Nations, and many other aid agencies have struggled just to keep the population healthy and fed as it tries get back on its feet. Recent weeks have seen an outbreak of cholera, which has killed more than 300 people. The cholera strain is not native to Haiti, and reportedly matches strains found in South Asia, placing suspicion on U.N. personnel from that area who were stationed nearby. Some 1.3 million people are still crammed into thousands of makeshift camps dotted around the capital, leaving them vulnerable to both disease outbreaks and the elements – of particular concern as Tropical Storm Tomas now approaches, and may grow to Hurricane strength by landfall on Friday.

I choose this picture because it is not like other piuctures of disasters. it is focusing the real life of people and showing hope from a child’s perspective.

Devastation

In keeping with the upcoming emotion assignment, i decided to go with this photo from the National Press Photographers Association website. I believe the folks in this shot were victims of a wild fire in which they lost their home to the flames. Having lived through and seen the devastation hurricane Katrina reaked all over my hometown, I understand the pain these people are feeling. It tough knowing that there is nothing you could have done to stop this destruction.

This photo is effective because it captures the silence of the destruction. Instead of getting right up in the faces of these people, the photographer chose to use a wider angle and capture the source of their pain and use that to translate the emotion. The colors in this photo are worthy of note as well. The entire frame is mostly monochromatic all blue-ish grays. It really adds to the eerie feel of this photo.

Brotherly Love

In the spirit of this weeks photo assignment I thought that I would upload a photo that displays “emotion.” This photo was taken this past summer by one of my closest friends Katie McGee. This summer seemed to be a summer of milestones for my family, I was getting ready to start my junior year of college, my little brother Neil his freshman year and my parents were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. As we started to pack my brothers things we realized that the last photos that we had taken of me and my little brother were from when we were 3 and 5 years old. I asked Katie to take some portraits of us and we decided to give it to my parents for their anniversary. This photo depicts my relationship with my little brother perfectly. I am constantly laughing at everything he says and does. He is not only my little brother, but my best friend. The laughter in this photo is completely perfect and the emotion truly genuine.

Food-Scapes

Carl Warner/Abrams, 2010

I was just stumbling around various photo blogs when I came across this photo on the NPR picture show website. I think it is so cool when food is used for landscapes and little towns. Sometimes it looks really realistic and it must take hours to do. If I had the time maybe I would try to do this. Carl Warner is the person who does this and he likes to do this for the pure scape to photograph it.

Yum.

(c) Kelly Hinderberger

This is one of my photos from the ‘Person At Work’ assignment that didn’t make the cut. I really like the picture and the detail in it, but there is no human element to make it fit into the assignment. I just really love how in-focus the cupcake is and how the cupcake takes up a large majority of the frame, making everything else very blurred. This is probably one of my most favorite photos I’ve ever taken.In a weird way, I feel like this picture is able to convey an emotion as well. I don’t know about you, but all of my ‘Person At Work’ photos really gave me a sweet tooth. A single picture evoking that sort of a response makes me wonder if photos without people in them can bring out the same, if more more, emotion than those with human elements in them?

I feel like this is a good question to ask ourselves as we progress in the ‘Emotion’ assignment. Keep your options and eyes open. Don’t underestimate the simple things, because if shot well, they can really have an effect on people.

The Joy of Rain

It seems as though I cannot help myself from blogging about photos found in the National Geographic photo galleries, seeing as though this my third week posting a picture from the site.  This photo was taken by Jashim Salam, and I found it in the people and culture photo gallery.  The photo is of children playing in seasonal rains in Bangladesh.  I was instantly drawn to the joyous emotion on the faces of these kids.  It is that innocent excitement we all experienced as children.  Looking at this photo I am automatically brought back to those childhood moments when I didn’t have a care in the world, and my days revolved around playing games outside until dinner time.  I miss those days when rain water provided me with so much excitement and happiness, just like the children in this photo.

birds of a couple flock together

Erik M. Lunsford | St. Louis Post-Dispatch

In my tireless search for cool hats, Barbara and Martin Dietrich caught my attention while cruising for a weather feature on Monday at Tower Grove Park. Birders for over 40 years, the Dietrichs have traveled as far as Indonesia and South Africa for rare sightings of exotic birds. “It’s always a surprise, ” said Barbara. “You never know what’s going to fly by.”

Fly by, perhaps, like wandering photojournalists?

Drug Addict

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I look at this photo I automatically start concocting a storyline to go along with it.  I see pain, frustration, and hopelessness displayed through this one girl; as if her drug addiction is so strong that it has transformed into an ongoing battle that she will never see herself winning.  As well, the texture of the ground and wall she is sitting against gives me a sense of where the picture was taken.

I’ve always been a sucker for photographs with raw emotion, so when I came across this photo on Magnumphotos I pretty much fell in love with it on the spot.  Although the emotion isn’t pleasant, it’s real and something not usually displayed too often.  Moreover, I must commend the photographer for capturing such an emotional instant and also being able to take such a photo because not all are able to snap uncomfortable moments like this one.