Sheryl WuDunn – Keynote Speaker for Atlas Week!

Sheryl WuDunn, reporter, author and business executive, and Pulitzer-prize winner signs her new book "Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide" at a book signing at Saint Louis University on Thursday, March, 29, in Saint Louis, Mo.

It’s quite amazing how being a photographer gives you the opportunity to meet new people and sheds light to worthwhile  causes that you may have never noticed. That is exactly what happened tonight for me. All week, I wanted to shoot this event and have been waiting for it as it has been advertised for several weeks now around campus:        ” Pulitzer Prize winning-reporter, author and business executive Sheryl WuDunn, will deliver the keynote address at Saint Louis University’s 12th Annual Sam and Marilyn Fox Atlas Week Signature Symposium at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, March 29, in the Wool Ballroom of the University’s Busch Student Center, 20 N. Grand Blvd. at Laclede. ” 

Honestly, I didn’t really know much about Sheryl WuDunn, but when I decided to take on the assignment – I researched her just so that I’d have a picture of who she was before I went and shot her pictures. The more I researched her, the more excited I got for the assignment!

What jumpstarted and fixated me on taking pictures of the Altas Week Symposium Speaker? Well, it was that day in  class that Professor Lunsford showed us the picture story he had taken of “Soldier Hard.” Soldier Hard was an inspirational man, ex-military and now inspirational speaker and I kind of wanted to do a very similar assignment in a shorter time span just to get the feel of what Professor Lunsford did on his assignment.  So, I took on this similar mini- assignment. I got to follow around Sheryl WuDunn for a span of 4 hours today from 4:30-8:30. I first met her at her book signing in the BSC where she was available for an hour, then went to the Atlas Week Speaker Symposium and finally stuck around for the mini reception afterwards.

This picture above was just one of several that I took of her signing a book for students. I like the fact that this picture is in focus, blurs the background and the blue table cloth in the front of the picture gives it a warm cool feel as well.I do not like that there was a person in the background of Sheryl as this was a bit distracting. I shot it from this angle because I wanted to get the cover of the book as she was signing it. My settings for this picture were in manual, no flash because it was creating a lot of glare and was unnecessary! I wish I had gotten a bit more of an expressive face as she was signing the book, as it would have definitely made for a better picture. I used a 55mm-300mm lens which is what creates a telephoto compression effect and I do like that about the picture.

Throughout the night, I feel like I got to not only experience a very cool speaker, but more importantly save the experience through pictures!

 

0 Responses to “Sheryl WuDunn – Keynote Speaker for Atlas Week!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Erik’s Twitter Feed

  • @DeltaAssist would you mind checking to see why I can't check in on my itinerary from SCL - STL? Colleagues traveling with can w/o problem. 4 hours ago
  • @onlineamber thanks! All is well, in Iquique heading to the earthquake disaster zone. 16 hours ago
  • @onlineamber especially when the family in the seats right in front of me recline and crunch my knees moments after takeoff. Oww! 1 day ago
  • Flying to Iquique from Santiago in Chile just got a lot slower with all the systems in the airport down. Handwritten boarding pass time. 1 day ago
  • A mad dash through the Atlanta airport on my way to Santiago, Chile. 3 days ago
  • RT @ofadam: Today, I was asked why we charge for news by a college student. My answer was profound: a hand in each pocket, pulling the lini… 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimes: NYT's Tyler Hicks won a Pulitzer Prize in breaking news photography for these photos of a terrorist attack in Nairobi http://t… 1 week ago
  • RT @JamesEstrin: Congrats to @joshhaner for winning photo Pulitzer. A great photographer/editor and co founder of the Lens blog http://t.co… 1 week ago
  • RT @jmott78: I"m going to throw this term out there right now and if it sticks I just want #justinmott credit. Editing wedding photos=Wedit… 1 week ago
  • Ahh, at home on a Sunday evening with the @nytimes and a comfy chair. 1 week ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

