Weather

I appreciated the leniency of the assignment, but because of its broadness, it was difficult to find inspiration. I checked out the camera on Monday, hoping to get a jump on the assignment, but had to wait until Wednesday before I stumbled upon a “weather” moment.

Image

I was rolling into my apartment complex, when I spotted this triad chilling outside enjoying this moment of brief sunshine. When I asked them if I could snap a few photos of them, the cheerfully agreed.

I’m a big fan of the shadows in this photograph and I think they play a large part in creating the frame. The sun creates a little spotlight effect on the gentleman on the right. If I could go back in time, I would have turned down the iso a little to help highlight him a little more and tone down the pair in the shadows. The one thing I do not like about his position is that he is looking out of the frame.

Overall, I think this assignment forced me to change my perspective on weather. Before, I looked at it merely as an unchangeable byproduct of mother nature. Now, I have a begun to take notice of the ways random people around me cope with it in their own peculiar ways.

0 Responses to “Weather”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Erik’s Twitter Feed

  • @DeltaAssist would you mind checking to see why I can't check in on my itinerary from SCL - STL? Colleagues traveling with can w/o problem. 16 hours ago
  • @onlineamber thanks! All is well, in Iquique heading to the earthquake disaster zone. 1 day ago
  • @onlineamber especially when the family in the seats right in front of me recline and crunch my knees moments after takeoff. Oww! 1 day ago
  • Flying to Iquique from Santiago in Chile just got a lot slower with all the systems in the airport down. Handwritten boarding pass time. 1 day ago
  • A mad dash through the Atlanta airport on my way to Santiago, Chile. 3 days ago
  • RT @ofadam: Today, I was asked why we charge for news by a college student. My answer was profound: a hand in each pocket, pulling the lini… 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimes: NYT's Tyler Hicks won a Pulitzer Prize in breaking news photography for these photos of a terrorist attack in Nairobi http://t… 1 week ago
  • RT @JamesEstrin: Congrats to @joshhaner for winning photo Pulitzer. A great photographer/editor and co founder of the Lens blog http://t.co… 1 week ago
  • RT @jmott78: I"m going to throw this term out there right now and if it sticks I just want #justinmott credit. Editing wedding photos=Wedit… 1 week ago
  • Ahh, at home on a Sunday evening with the @nytimes and a comfy chair. 1 week ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

